Monday, April 17 Tea Time

It’s been a terribly quiet start to the week here after all the hectic days of last week.  I am happy to have the time to relax.  I’ve got two premade Chai teas to taste tonight so all I have pretty much have to do is open containers and pour!  The first one is one I’ve had before but not for many years now.  It’s Oregon Chai Original Chai Tea Latte.

When I had just graduated high school and was getting ready for going away to college, I worked that last summer in a little town near home as a barista in a small coffee shop.  They also served tea and this Oregon Chai was their Chai tea mix. So I had this drink first there and when I was older and found it grocery shopping I’d sometimes pick it up.  I haven’t had any in over fifteen years now easily.  However, I remember liking it.

The ingredients are a little vague on the package but from what I can gather it has a combination of black tea, vanilla, honey, clove, cinnamon, cardamom, ginger, cane sugar syrup, water and natural flavors.  I can smell the cinnamon, clove, cardamom and ginger spices in it.  The directions on the back of the package say that I should mix equal parts tea mix to milk or milk substitute.  I microwave the tea mix first and then add the milk and stir.  I taste it and add a little bit of sugar because it’s not sweet enough for my taste.  I believe that they make a sweetened Oregon Chai that the newer Kroger in town carries.

The taste is smooth and creamy from the milk and it has a great spice flavor that isn’t overpowering.  It’s just so delicious.  It makes me want to share it!  The cinnamon and cloves are subtle in flavor and just delightful.  It makes me think of Fall time and leaves falling off the trees and snuggling up with a good cup of this to watch some TV or read a book.  I’m thinking that I will have a second cup of this one but I have to try the other tea first.

The other tea is Tazo Chai Classic Latte.  It’s a mixture of water, black tea, black pepper, ginger, cardamom, cinnamon, cloves, star anise, natural flavors, cane sugar, honey, ginger juice and vanilla extract.  Not black pepper again!  I can’t stand black pepper except for on eggs.  The Republic of Tea Chai tea had black pepper in it and I didn’t like it at all.  The mix smells spicy of cinnamon, black pepper, ginger and star anise.  The package has the same directions as the other tea so I do the same thing as before.

Okay, it’s not as creamy as the Oregon Chai tea taste.  It’s very spicy to me comparably and it’s got the black pepper taste coming through to me.  It’s making my tongue feel funny with the black pepper.  It’s not very smooth like the Oregon Chai.  It’s for the people who like hot sauce and jalapeños.  Not my style.  I’m going to dump this cup out and make myself a second cup of the Oregon Chai.  Clearly, I’ve chosen my winner…

So apparently, people in the Pacific Northwest know a thing or two about making great Chai tea!  I’ve got another Chai tea in teabags to taste from Tazo and this worries me… that plus another tea to taste from Stash tea will be coming up next time!  Please join me! Remember pinkies up! 🍵

Leave a Reply

