Monday, April 3 Tea Time

My brother told me this evening that he was able to get me four of the five teas from Teahaus in Ann Arbor last week and that he plans on bringing them out to me sometime tomorrow.  This is great news because after tonight’s tastings I’m down to just three teas remaining in the Republic of Tea order.  Tomorrow I will be having major dental work so I don’t plan on doing a Tea Time.  Alden is out of school for Spring Break this week and comes home Wednesday afternoon so I plan on doing Tea Time with him then.

So let’s get started for tonight with a cup from the Custom Sampler.  It’s British Breakfast Blend Black Tea.  This is a combination of fine blend tea from Assam, Ceylon, Darjeeling and Africa.  The teabag smells strongly of black tea so it’s pretty straightforward.

It infuses to a dark black color and smells like tea.  It’s bitter and acidic and not very exciting to taste.  It’s so plain and bland and boring to me.  I just don’t like the taste of regular tea I must confess!  I really prefer it to be flavored.  I’m sure that there’s there’s some tea aficionados out there gasping that I have a Tea Time blog and I can’t stand straight black tea but that’s how I roll…  Sorry, everyone!

Next up is the final teabag from the Downton Abbey Sampler.  It’s Downton Christmas Tea.  Alden has been giving me items for his upcoming Christmas list for this year for the last couple of weeks now so I guess I’m in the mood for this tea whether I like it or not!  With my kid, it’s never too early to start asking for stuff…  This tea is a blend of black tea, cinnamon, natural flavors, cloves, licorice root and apple bits.  I’ve seen this exact blend before on another Republic of Tea product and that was Holiday Spice Tea from Harry and David that my Mom got as a Christmas present last year.  I tried it and wasn’t very fond of the taste.  Actually, according to the Republic of Tea website it’s also that same blend for the Holiday Edition Comfort and Joy Tea.  So they have recycled it three times this same blend!  Those devils!

The teabag smells strongly of cinnamon and cloves.  It infuses to a dark black shade and smells of cinnamon and cloves.  I know I told you before that I used to chew clove gum as a kid and smoke clove cigarettes in college so I do really like the taste of cloves.  However, that being said, a little goes a long way with this particular spice.  It’s the predominant flavor in this tea’s flavor profile and it’s just too much to be pleasant.  The cinnamon is strong too but the whole cup is just too much.  It’s overwhelming.  I can’t even finish it and dump it down the sink like I did the British Breakfast cup…

It’s time for my final cup of tea for tonight and I hope it is a good one.  It’s from the Custom Sampler and it’s Coconut Hibiscus Tea.  It’s caffeine free because it’s herbal tea.  This tea is also available in the Hibiscus Tea Assortment Sampler from Republic of Tea.  It’s a mixture of hibiscus, rose hips, apples, stevia, coconut bits and natural flavor.  The teabag smells delicious with a great coconut scent.

It infuses to a deep crimson hue and smells like suntan lotion.  The coconut flavor is strong in the forefront with a cloyingly sweet taste.  The hibiscus is merely a note in the aftertaste as a tart kicker as you swallow.  It reminds me of the taste of Malibu Coconut Rum which I used to drink back in college about twenty years ago.  That stuff was good and so is this tea.  I might want to get this for the vault in the future because I love coconut tea and I don’t have a completely caffeine free one right now.  I would also think that Alden would like this tea.

The night had started with some disappointment but it ended with a good note.  So I’m pleased.  I should be back the day after tomorrow with Alden so I’m hoping you join us as we finish the Republic of Tea order.  Remember pinkies up!

Leave a Reply

