Saturday, April 1 Tea Time

It’s April Fools Day and so far I’ve had no pranks pulled on me.  Of course, I haven’t left the house because I’m cleaning today so unless my Mom has plans for later tonight, which I doubt because she’s not much of a jokester, I’m pretty much safe.  It’s still chilly out and I’m beginning to wonder if Spring will ever show it’s face here in Michigan.  Pretty typical for around here actually.

To begin Tea Time today as I take a break from cleaning my first cup is coming from the Custom Sampler from the Republic of Tea order.  It’s Republic Chai Black Tea.  It’s a combination of black tea, cinnamon, orange peel, ginger, cardamom seeds, Chinese star anise, cloves and black pepper.  The teabag smells very spicy with strong cinnamon, ginger, cardamom and cloves scents coming from it.  It was so strong it made me sneeze upon sniffing it.  Of course, maybe that was the black pepper kicker.

It infuses to a medium brown color and smells like ginger and cinnamon mostly.  The taste is spicy with all the flavors of cinnamon, cloves, star anise, cardamom and ginger coming through with a touch of heat in the aftertaste from the black pepper.  It’s an unique Chai tea taste to me.  It’s almost savory.  It’s quite different and unusual.  The black pepper sets it apart.  My tongue is all tingly.  I’m not sure if I like this one.  It’s a little too spicy for me.

I’ve got the main housework done now.  I’m just waiting on my bed linens to finish in the dryer.  I’m listening to Cuban Fantasy on WEMU radio online with its lively Latino music.  I’m ready for a second cup of tea from the Custom Sampler.  I’m going with Decaf Apricot Black Tea. It’s a blend of Fair Trade Certified naturally decaffeinated black tea, natural apricot flavor, apricot and peach bits.  The teabag has a tangy apricot smell.

It infuses to a light brown shade and smells of apricot.  The tea has a very natural apricot taste to it with a subdued black tea flavor in the background.  It’s a subtle flavor, not overwhelming at all.  I find it very pleasant and soothing.  It’s a quiet tea for recovering from that spicy Chai I started with.

I just need my quilt from the dryer to finish my bed now.  So I’m ready to prepare myself a final cup for tonight.  This one is coming from the Downton Abbey Sampler and it’s English Rose Herb Tea.  It’s caffeine free because it’s herbal tea.  It’s a mixture of Nigerian hibiscus, rosehip peels, apples, stevia, natural raspberry, natural rose and vanilla flavors and rose petals.  It’s the exact same blend as Republic of Tea Raspberry Rose Hibiscus Tea by the way, which costs slightly less than the Downton Abbey version.  Oh, those rascals at Republic of Tea recycling flavors!  The teabag smells of hibiscus and raspberry.

Whoa!  They’re playing Stairway to Heaven on this NPR radio show on WEMU right now… I love Led Zeppelin!  Perfect mood music for my tea!  It has infused to a dark ruby red hue and smells deliciously full of hibiscus and raspberry scents.  Okay, now that show just played Pink Floyd’s Comfortably Numb… I was already in love with this radio station but now I might have to pledge some money next pledge drive because they’re really getting to my heart!  So back to the taste of the tea… It’s very familiar.  I’ve tasted Raspberry Rose Hibiscus in a sample before.  It tastes like raspberry and hibiscus with no taste of roses detectable.  However, it’s also an exact duplicate of one of my favorite teas from the vault.  It’s just like Stash Raspberry Hibiscus Tea.  I get that tea for about $2.95 a box at my local grocery store which beats Republic of Tea prices hands down.

Now I’m hearing The Doors on WEMU.  This is amazing.  It must be the way NPR pulls an April Fools joke.  They play classic rock on a jazz station… I’ve got my bed made now and my tea finished.  Time to rinse out my cup and wander off to bed once Jimi Hendrix is done with this guitar solo.  See you next time!  Remember pinkies up! 🍵

Leave a Reply

