Monday, March 20 Tea Time

Yippee!  I received a tea sampler shipment from Target thanks to my very giving son allowing me to use the remaining amount of a Christmas gift card after he had done his shopping long ago to get today’s three teas to taste!  The shipping charges cost more than the price of the tea but the sampler wasn’t found in stores so I had no choice and I had just enough to cover it with the gift card.

Luckily last night I also got to put in an order with Republic of Tea which had a wonderful promotion going on through yesterday that had any $30 purchase receive a free Organic Double Green Matcha Tea Tin with the order! So I got two sampler types and some refill bags of Banana Chocolate and Milk Oolong.  So that order should be here soon I hope and put me back into writing business by the end of this week.

Today’s teas are from Target’s Simply Balanced brand which is fair trade and organic.   It’s called the Zen Collection.  The first choice is Active and Alert Green Herbal Tea blend.  According to the package it has a caffeine content of 16-30mg caffeine per cup.  It’s a blend of organic steamed green tea, organic yerba mate, organic matcha, organic kola and natural flavors.

The teabag smell reminds me of a Pepsi cola.  It’s hard to describe…. It infuses to a light green color and smells now like lemon and lime…Sprite?   I’m just going to have to see how this tastes!   I really like it!  It’s got a hot watered down Sprite flavor thing going on with it to me with this inexplicably lemon and lime flavor.  I have no idea where that’s coming from according to the ingredient list on the package…but it’s still really good.   It’s really energizing to the mind.  I think Alden would like this one.

The next tea is On Guard Herbal Tea which is caffeine free. It’s a mixture of organic peppermint, organic rose hips, organic caraway, organic sage, organic ginger root, organic turmeric, organic star anise, and organic fenugreek.  The teabag smells strongly of peppermint with a spicy undertone of sage and turmeric scents.

It infuses to a light golden brown shade and smells minty with a herbal background.  It’s not bad.  I like the blend of mint and herbs.  It’s got a strong flavor of turmeric, ginger and sage coming through with the peppermint.  I’m not sure what fenugreek is supposed to taste like… I might be tasting some caraway and star anise too in it.  It’s very herbal in the aftertaste.  I like it and it’s good sweetened.

The last of today’s trio of tea from the Simply Balanced Zen Collection is Snooze and Snuggle Tea Herbal Tea.  It’s also caffeine free.  It’s a blend of organic chamomile, organic lavender, organic lemon balm, organic lemon peel, organic cinnamon and organic fennel.  The teabag smells of lavender and lightly of cinnamon.

It infuses to a pale golden brown hue and smells of lavender and chamomile.  The taste is reminding me of mint but it’s the taste of lavender I’m getting with the chamomile as well.  I don’t know, maybe I am getting some cinnamon taste from it too and that’s the minty taste I’m getting.  I don’t think I’m getting any lemon taste from this tea.  It’s very soothing that’s for sure.  This tea is definitely designed for the end of the day to encourage sleeping and I can see how this one works for this effect.   It’s got a great unwind from the day smoothness to it.  I’m not a big fan of lavender and thought it would taste like soap but this is quite nice and pleasant. I feel calm drinking this tea.

So I would have to say that the Simply Balanced Zen Collection was a winner.  I was pleasantly happy with all three teas in the sampler.  I just wish it was available in my local Target store for purchase.  There are several other teas from Simply Balanced and another sampler.  Maybe one of these days I’ll get to try those, too.  The stores do not carry most of them I noticed.  They’re only available online.

The Republic of Tea order is on its way according to my email!  So I’m hopeful this means I will be back with Tea Time in a few days.  The waiting is the hardest part…  Remember pinkies up!

Leave a Reply

