Thursday, February 16 Tea Time

Sorry everyone, but I slept through yesterday again and I didn’t have a Tea Time but I got up early today so I’m starting Tea Time early today.  I’m going with my grocery store Celestial Seasonings Sweet Harvest Pumpkin Black Tea because I don’t feel like messing up my finum brewing basket.  The teabag smells of pumpkin, nutmeg and cinnamon.

It infuses to a black color and smells of nutmeg.  I put some Sweet Cream coffee creamer in it with a bit less sugar than usual.  It’s quite delicious.  Much less spicy and in your face than the Teavana Pumpkin Spice Brûlée.  It’s more subtle and has less cloves and cinnamon taste to it with more nutmeg coming through.  I really prefer this tea to the Teavana one.  I’m just not into spicy teas. A little clove goes a long way and this has the perfect amount.

Next is my first and most favorite tea from Republic of Tea, Vanilla Almond Black Tea. I always keep this tea in stock in the vault.  The teabag smells sweetly of vanilla and almond.

It infuses to a dark shade and smells nutty with vanilla coming through.  The taste is wonderfully balanced with almond and vanilla deliciously coming through equally with no acidity.  The tea is perfect to me and my taste.  It’s mellow and soothing to the senses.  Republic of Tea has a decaffeinated version but I’ve never felt the need to get it because I can drink this tea at anytime of day even late into the night and not be affected.  I think this tea must be on the lower end of caffeine levels for black tea.  They also carry a loose leaf version but the teabags make perfect cups so I see no need to change.  I highly recommend this tea.  This tea is worth trying.

The next cup is another tea that is a favorite of mine that I drank a lot of back when I first started getting into tea over a year ago.  It’s Bigelow Perfect Peach Herbal Tea and back then I used to go through almost a box a week!  However, I haven’t had it for a very long time now and I took some over to my sister-in-law to try on Monday because she said that she loved peach tea and this is my favorite peach tea I have.  She liked it and kept the extra packets I brought just in case it was a winner with her.  It’s caffeine free because it’s herbal tea.  Plus it’s extremely cheap at the grocery store.

The teabag smells strongly of peaches and hibiscus.  It infuses to a deep violet red color and smells deliciously peachy.  The blend has hibiscus, rose hips, orange peel, lemon peel, strawberry leaves, roasted chicory, apples and peaches in it.  It’s magical.  It gets a slightly flowery flavor from the hibiscus but the peach flavor is so full in your face you just can’t ignore it.  The teabag and box have the tag line “Just like a freshly baked peach pie but in a teacup “!  They aren’t kidding when they make this claim.

The last cup of the night is a decadent treat that’s caffeine free but delicious anytime of the day.  Unfortunately the grocery store where I first acquired this tea no longer carries it so I had to reorder a huge amount from the online website.  I’m set for a while now.  It’s Stash Chocolate Hazelnut Decaf Black Tea.  I’m using two teabags for this infusion because my teacup is huge.  However, when I use smaller cups one teabag works perfectly fine.

The teabag smells distinctly chocolatey.  It infuses to a deep dark black shade and smells divine.  Just like a chocolate bar!  The taste is reminiscent of a tootsie roll.  I don’t ever get any hazelnut from this tea but this doesn’t bother me in the slightest bit.  It’s so yummy it’s amazing.  I just love this one.

What a sweet way to end the night and go to dreamland.  Tomorrow night I will have my son, Alden, the junior tea taster, here for a three day weekend and he will be joining me for Tea Time.  Join me and see what kind of hijinks we get into.  Remember pinkies up! 🍵

Leave a Reply

